American Nuclear Society

Home / Standards / Consensus Committees

Large Light Water Reactor Consensus Committee (LLWRCC)

The LLWRCC is responsible for the preparation and maintenance of voluntary consensus standards for the design, operation, maintenance, operator selection and training, and quality requirements for current operating nuclear power plants and future nuclear power plants that employ large station light water moderated, water-cooled reactors. The standards include the reactor island, balance of plant, and other systems within the plant boundary that affect safety and operations. The ANS Standards Committee Procedures Manual for Consensus Committees shall be used to guide the activities of this consensus committee.

The LLWRCC oversees the following 4 subcommittees:

  • Emergency Planning & Response
  • Light Water Reactor & Reactor Auxiliary Systems Designs
  • Power Generation & Plant Support Systems
  • Simulators, Instrumentation, Control Systems, Software & Testing

LLWRCC Membership Roster

C.E. (Gene) Carpenter, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
William B. Reuland (Vice Chair), Individual
William H. Bell, South Carolina Electric & Gas Company
James M. Bonfiglio, AREVA, Inc.
Charles K. Brown, Southern Nuclear Operating Company
John C. Butler, Nuclear Energy Institute (Alternate to NEI Liaison)
James B. Florence, Nebraska Public Power District
Darrell Gardner, Generation mPower, LLC
Steven W. Gebers, Quantum Nuclear Services
James P. Glover, Graftel, Inc.
Pranab K. Guha, U.S. Department of Energy
Earnestine Johnson-Turnipseed, Entergy Corporation
David J. Kanuch, Siemplekamp Nuclear Services, Inc.
Leroy E. Kreider, Engineering Planning & Management, Inc.
Mark A. Linn, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Evan M. Lloyd, Exitech Corporation
Ronald Markovich, Contingency Management Consulting
Robert H. McFetridge, Westinghouse Electric Company, LLC
Timothy K. Meneely, Westinghouse Electric Company, LLC
Charles H. Moseley, Jr., ASME NQA-1 Liasison
James H. Riley, Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI Liaison)
Stephen D. Routh, Bechtel Power Corporation
R. Michael Ruby, Individual
James C. Saldarini, Bechtel Power Corporation
Donald J. Spellman, Individual)
Steven L. Stamm, Individual

LLWRCC Documents


Last updated August 25, 2015, 2:28pm CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.