American Nuclear Society

Home / Standards / Consensus Committees

Environmental and Siting Consensus Committee (ESCC)

The ESCC is responsible for the preparation and maintenance of voluntary consensus standards for all aspects of nuclear power plant and non-reactor nuclear facility siting, environmental assessment, environmental management, environmental monitoring, and the categorization and evaluation of natural phenomena hazards at these public and private sector nuclear facilities.

Many of the ESCC standards presently support the siting and environmental needs of the civilian nuclear industry and the Department of Energy (DOE) in meeting 10 CFR 50, 10 CFR 51 and 10 CFR 52 licensing requirements and assisting with compliance to 40 CFR enabling regulations associated with the Clean Air Act, Clean Water Act, Safe Drinking Water Act, Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and Liability Act, Toxic Substances Control Act, and National Environmental Policy Act. The ANS Standards Committee Procedures Manual for Consensus Committees shall be used to guide the activities of this consensus committee.

The ESCC oversees the following 7 subcommittees:

  • Enviromnental Impact Assessment & Analysis
  • Siting: Aquatic Ecology
  • Siting: Atmospheric
  • Siting: General & Monitoring
  • Siting: Hydrogeologic
  • Siting: Seismic
  • Siting: Terrestrial Ecology

ESCC Membership Roster

Carl A. Mazzola (Chair), CB&I Federal Services
Yan Gao (Vice Chair), Westinghouse Electric Company
Thomas Bellinger, Y-12 National Security Complex
Kevin Bryson, Individual
Jennifer Call, Oasys, Inc.
Robert G. Carpenter, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Doub, Peyton, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Brad Harvey, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Quazi Hossain, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
R. Joe Hunt, Y-12 National security Complex
Ann L. Miracle, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
James O'Brien, U.S. Department of Energy
Leah Parks, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Todd C. Rasmussen, University of Georgia
Jean Savy, Individual
Stephen A. Vigeant, CB&I
Marya Watson, Associate Member
Jim Xu, U.S. Nuclear regulatory Commission

ESCC Documents


Last updated January 12, 2016, 1:25pm CST

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.