American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

Senate Confirms Svinicki for Another Term as NRC Commissioner

Tracy Marc|

Just days before her term was set to expire, NRC Chairman Kristine Svinicki was confirmed by the Senate for a third term at the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC). Her term with the NRC is for five years and she has served on the U.S. NRC since March 28, 2008.

ANS congratulates Commissioner Svinicki on her re-appointment and hopes Congress will continue to move ahead swiftly with the confirmations of Annie Caputo and David Wright to bring the commission to its full five-seat strength.

Later this week the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee will meet to consider NRC commission nominees Annie Caputo and David Wright tomorrow.

To see the ANS position on NRC Commissioners, read Position Statement 77-The Nuclear Regulatory Commission or the background information file.

Media Contact:
Tracy Marc, Communications & Outreach|Office: 708-579-8224|Cell: 630-710-8216
Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.