American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

ANS Announces New Board

Tracy Marc|

The American Nuclear Society (ANS) announced the results of its national election at the Annual Business Meeting on June 14, 2017 in San Francisco, Calif. The newly-elected officers will take their positions and begin their terms June 15, 2017.

The following were elected to the ANS Board of Directors for the 2017-2018 term.

Vice President / President-Elect

John Kelly, Chief Technology Officer, Office of Nuclear Energy, U.S. Department of Energy

Darby Kimball, Facility Manager for the Superblock Complex  at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; on assignment from parent company Bechtel

U.S. At-Large Directors
Mary Lou Dunzik-Gougar - Associate Professor of Nuclear Engineering, Associate Dean of College of Science and Engineering, and Reactor Administrator at Idaho State University, Idaho Falls, Idaho

Lisa M. Marshall- Director of Outreach, Retention and Engagement, Lecturer and Academic Adviser at North Carolina State’s Department of Nuclear Engineering & College of Engineering

W. David Pointer- Distinguished Staff Member, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Leah Spradley Parks- Environmental Engineer and Risk Analyst, Division of Decommissioning, Uranium Recovery and Waste Programs, Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Non-U.S. At-Large Director
Fiona Elizabeth Rayment - Executive Director at UK’s National Nuclear Laboratory

Student Director
Kathryn (Katie) A. Mummah, Senior Undergraduate at University of Illinois

Robert N. Coward-Principal Officer, MPR Associates, Inc. will begin his role as ANS President on June 15, 2017.

Full listing of the 2017 ANS National Election Results

Media Contact:
Tracy Marc, Communications & Outreach|Office: 708-579-8224|Cell: 630-710-8216
Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.