American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

President to Nominate Three NRC Commissioners

Tracy Marc|

President Trump is planning to nominate three commissioners to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, bringing the Commission to its full five-member capacity.  

“ANS is pleased that President Trump has announced his intent to nominate NRC Chairman Kristine Svinicki for another term and Annie Caputo and David Wright to fill the current Commissioner vacancies. We urge the Senate to act to confirm their nominations by June 30,” stated ANS President Andy Klein.

Kristine Svinicki, the current chairwoman, will be nominated for a second five-year firm, while Annie Caputo and David Wright will be nominated for their first terms. Caputo is currently a senior advisor to Chairman John Barrasso (R-WY) on the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee, while Wright  retired in 2013 from the South Carolina Public Service Commission. 

Svinicki has been a member of the American Nuclear Society since 1988 and is active on the Decommissioning & Environmental Sciences Division and the Fuel Cycle & Waste Management Division.

Media Contact:
Tracy Marc, Communications & Outreach|Office: 708-579-8224|Cell: 630-710-8216
Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.