American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

President Trump Appoints New NRC Chairman

Tracy Marc|

President Trump appointed  NRC Commissioner Kristine Svinicki to be Chairman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission late yesterday, replacing Chairman Stephen Burns, effective immediately.

ANS congratulates Chairman Svinicki on her appointment. Currently, there are two open seats on the five-person Commission.

“The Commission has historically been very effective at ensuring public safety while providing for the beneficial use of nuclear technology in the U.S.,” said ANS President Andrew Klein.  “However, the Commission should have its full complement of five members during these demanding times."  

Chairman Svinicki has been a long-time ANS member and serves on the Fuel Cycle & Waste Management Division and the Decommissioning & Environmental Sciences Division.

The American Nuclear Society thanks Chairman Burns for his years of service on the Commission. President Obama designated him as Chairman on Jan. 1, 2015.

ANS supports a full complement of five serving Commissioners with diverse backgrounds and experience in nuclear safety and electrical power generation with recognized accomplishments in the technical, management, legal, regulatory or policy fields. 

"Having highly qualified Commissioners with the necessary education and experience to make decisions based on science and the law is essential,” Klein explained, adding, “Their decisions impact our economy and environment.”

For more information refer to ANS Position Statement 77-The Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

Media Contact:
Tracy Marc, Communications & Outreach|Office: 708-579-8224|Cell: 630-710-8216
Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.