American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

Luis Echavarri Recognized with Henry DeWolf Smyth Award

Mr. Echavarri to receive honor at the 2014 ANS Annual Meeting in Reno, NV

Tracy Marc|

Luis Echavarri, former Director-General of the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), has been recognized with the 2014 Henry DeWolf Smyth Award from the American Nuclear Society (ANS).

Mr. Echavarri is recognized for his outstanding statesmanship and leadership in the global nuclear arena. This includes having directed the OECD/NEA activities for nearly 17 years, and promoting international co-operation for safe and economic commercial nuclear power.

Mr. Echavarri received his Postgraduate degree in Management from the Industrial Organization School of Madrid (EOI), and his Master’s degrees from the Superior Technical School of Industrial Engineering of Bilbao University from the Faculty of Information Sciences of the Complutensis University of Madrid. He will be recognized with the award at the 2014 ANS Annual Meeting, which will be held in Reno, NV from June 15-19, 2014.

The Smyth award was established in 1972 by the ANS and the Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) to recognize outstanding and statesmanlike contributions to the many aspects of nuclear energy activities. The candidate must have international stature in a broad sector of the nuclear energy field. A significant segment of the candidate's work must have been directed toward the peaceful uses of nuclear energy. Nominees need not be ANS or NEI members, they do not have to be US citizens, but the recipient must be living at the time he/she is nominated.


Media Contact:
Tracy Marc, Communications & Outreach|Office: 708-579-8224|Cell: 630-710-8216
Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.