American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

Dinh, Yang Named ANS Fellows

Honorees to be recognized at 2013 Winter Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Tracy Marc|

The American Nuclear Society (ANS) recognizes Dr. Nam Truc Dinh and Dr. Won Sik Yang as Fellows of ANS for their achievements in nuclear science.

Dr. Dinh is currently Professor of Nuclear Engineering at North Carolina State University. He previously was a Laboratory Fellow at the Idaho National Laboratory (INL) and received the 2011 INL Director’s Award for “Fukushima Response.” His research has improved the understanding of complex thermal hydraulic phenomena important to reactor safety. He received his Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering at the Moscow Power Engineering Institute.

Dr. Yang is currently a Full Professor of Nuclear Engineering at Purdue University. He is credited for the development of the premier high fidelity reactor physics software package in the world for fast reactor analysis. Previous to his time at Purdue, he was the Senior/Principal Nuclear Engineer at Argonne National Laboratory. He received his Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering from Purdue University.

Both Dr. Dinh and Dr. Yang will be presented with the honor at the 2013 ANS Winter Meeting in Washington, D.C. on November 11th, 2013.

The honored membership grade of Fellow is awarded to ANS members for outstanding accomplishment in any one of the areas of nuclear science and engineering.

Media Contact:
Tracy Marc, Communications & Outreach|Office: 708-579-8224|Cell: 630-710-8216
Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.