American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

Dr. Richard Meserve Honored with Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award

Linda Zec|

Richard Meserve, PhD, president of the Carnegie Institution for Science, is the recipient of the 2013 Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award. He was honored today at the Nuclear Energy Assembly being held in Washington, D.C.

"Dick Meserve has contributed a great deal to the nuclear industry," said American Nuclear Society President Michael Corradini, PhD. "He has steered nuclear energy policy to the benefit of all. He has left an indelible mark on the field."

Meserve has had an impactful career in nuclear policy, beginning as legal counsel for president Carter's Science and Technology Advisor back in 1977 and culminating with his current role as President of the Carnegie Institution for Science. He has held numerous other leadership positions, including Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1999-2003. His leadership and published work has helped to shape scientific policy in general and nuclear in particular. Meserve holds a PhD in applied physics from Stanford and a law degree from Harvard.

"Dick is richly deserving of this award. He is one of the most accomplished leaders in the nuclear energy field, on any continent," said Marvin Fertel, president and chief executive officer of the Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI). "He is recognized and respected internationally for his expertise in all facets of nuclear science, technology and policy, and he has served with distinction in the top levels of U.S. government and the private sector."

The award was presented by ANS Vice-President Donald Hoffman during the Nuclear Energy Assembly. Jointly established in 1972 by the American Nuclear Society (ANS) and NEI, the Smyth award recognizes outstanding service in the development and safe management of nuclear energy science. It was named after Henry DeWolf Smyth to commemorate his lifetime of achievement. Smyth was a Princeton University physicist who served on the Atomic Energy Commission from 1949-54 and was a U.S. representative to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

Media Contact:
Linda Zec, Communications & Outreach|708-579-8240
Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.