American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

American Nuclear Society Presents Awards to Distinguished Industry Leaders

Linda Zec|
Internationally Renowned Scientists and Engineers Recognized for Nuclear Achievements and Contributions

The American Nuclear Society today honored sixteen individuals for their extraordinary contributions and achievements to nuclear science and technology, ANS President Eric P. Loewen, PhD, announced today. "These individuals have dedicated themselves to advancing nuclear science and technology and we thank them for their service. I speak for all of our members when I say I am proud to be associated with them and congratulate them on their success," said Loewen.

The recipients and their awards include:

ANS Fellows

Bryan Allen Chin, for outstanding contributions in the development of theories to describe the welding of highly irradiated materials and mechanisms of irradiation effects on fatigue, creep and swelling of in-core materials.

David A. Petti, for exceptional leadership in the development and demonstration of advanced fuels and materials for fission and fusion systems; in particular, the very successful re-engineering, re-establishment of industrial fabrication capability, and irradiation testing and demonstration of high burnup particle fuels for High Temperature Gas Cooled Reactors.

Presidential Citations

Audeen W. Fentiman, for her exceptional support to the ANS through dedicated service in many volunteer and governance positions and her personal contributions to the Society are most noteworthy. Some examples are her exceptional leadership of the Local Sections, Planning and Public Policy Committees, as well as the ANS President's Special Committee on Used Nuclear Fuel Management Options and her term as a Member on the ANS Board of Directors. Her long time commitment to service is demonstrated by her dedicated leadership, wisdom and judgment which have markedly enhanced the value of ANS.

N. Prasad Kadambi, for his outstanding efforts in support of the ANS Standards Board. In particular, Prasad is recognized for safeguarding ANS interests in development of joint PRA standards with ASME, improving utility participation, increasing communication with stakeholders, representing ANS at national and international standards meetings and conferences, and for over 35 years of dedication to the ANS Standards program.

Anil Kakodkar, for his critical leadership role in successfully negotiating the Indo-U.S. civil nuclear agreement as Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary of the Department of Atomic Energy, and his outstanding technical contributions as an eminent nuclear scientist and mechanical engineer. He is also recognized for his dedicated service in support of the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Veermata Jijabai Technological Institute, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay and the Indian Nuclear Society and for all of the contributions he has made to India and to the international nuclear community.

Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women's Achievement Award

Sama Bilbao y Leon, for outstanding personal dedication and technical achievement in the fields of nuclear science, engineering, research or education and for her tireless efforts, selfless generosity and steadfast dedication to the development of nuclear education opportunities at Virginia Commonwealth University.

Robert L. Long Training Excellence Award

John Gutteridge, for an individual or group who has demonstrated sustained excellence in nuclear training and education and in recognition of his leadership and significant contributions made to the growth and sustainability of nuclear-related education, as a result of his development and management of innovative programs at both the US Department of Energy and the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission, which revitalized nuclear science and engineering education in the United States.

Mark Mills Award

Robert Joseph Zerr, for his graduate work in nuclear science entitled "Solutions of the Within-Group Multidimensional Discrete Ordinates Transport Equations on Massively Parallel Architectures."/p>

Theos J. (Tommy) Thompson Award

Michael L. Corradini, in recognition of his international leadership in understanding the safety and risk assessment of nuclear reactor operations and fuel cycles.

Eugene P. Wigner Reactor Physicist Award

Nils G. Strand, for his outstanding contributions to the advancement of the field of nuclear reactor physics, including his pioneering contributions to the early development of reactor physics, in particular for his work with pulsed neutron experiments and the invention of the area ratio method; for his work on accurate numerical solutions of the transport equation; and for his leadership in establishing reactor physics education at Chalmers University of Technology.

W. Bennett Lewis Award

Theodore Rockwell in recognition of his outstanding life-long pioneering contributions in support of sustainable and economically-viable development based on nuclear fission technology in multiple areas, including energy, defense, industry, medicine and agriculture.

Utility Leadership Award

John R. McGaha, in recognition of exemplary performance throughout his career in the nuclear industry through his tireless and endless efforts which continually demonstrated to those around him the importance of improvement, sustained performance and excellence in the industry.

Ray Goertz Award

Norbert R. Grant, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of robotics and remote technology.

Edward Teller Award

Christine Garban-Labaune and Bruce A. Remington, in recognition of their pioneering research and leadership in inertial fusion sciences and applications.

Octave J. Du Temple Award

Recognizes meritorious service to the Society by a member of the staff.

Edward O. Du Temple, in acknowledgement of his more than 20 years of meritorious service, as a member of ANS staff, proving his dedication to improving and maintaining an excellent work environment for staff and visiting members, exhaustively pursuing and implementing opportunities to increase efficiencies, achieve cost savings, and enhance the image of the Society through a wide variety of projects and initiatives.

Loewen concluded, "On behalf of everyone in the Society, we offer our thanks to these individuals who have worked so tirelessly to push forward the nuclear science and technology community."

For more information about the American Nuclear Society, visit

Media Contact:
Linda Zec, Communications & Outreach|708-579-8240
Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.