American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards

2016 < > 2018
Presented to graduating high-school seniors who are pursuing science, mathematics and/or technical courses with an interest in working in nuclear science and technology.

Bryce Z. Cavey - Freedom High School (PA)
Coleman R. Curran - James L. Mann High School (SC)
Grant Hengsteler - Arapahoe High School (CO)
Andrew Ingram - Unity High School (IL)
Elizabeth C. Smoak - Pinewood Preparatory School (SC)

Presented to undergraduate students of nuclear science and engineering in recognition of outstanding efforts and academic achievements in pursuit of a college education.

Sophomore Undergraduate
Mullin S. Green - University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Gavin T. Gray - Utah State University
EliseAnne C. Koskelo - Pomona College
Cesar A. Pozas - University of Florida

Undergraduate (Junior/Senior)
Kalie Knecht - University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Evan C. Leppink - University of Michigan
Samantha H. Michael - North Carolina State University
Carly Romnes - University of New Mexico
Sarah R. Stevenson - Kansas State University

Angelo F. Bisesti Memorial Scholarship
Erik B. Olson - Utah State University

Joseph R. Dietrich Memorial Scholarship
Anna DuBois - University of Nevada, Reno

Raymond DiSalvo Memorial Scholarship
Sarah Strickler - Virginia Commonwealth University

William R. & Mila Kimel Nuclear Engineering Scholarship
John J. Pashby - North Carolina State University

Robert G. Lacy Memorial
Colby K. Searle - Utah State University

John R. Lamarsh Memorial Scholarship
Zachary Hardy - Texas A&M University

Robert T. (Bob) Liner Memorial Scholarship
Max A. Morrow - Oregon State University

Hans P. Loewen Memorial Scholarship
Catalin A. Harabagiu - Purdue University

Accelerator Applications Division Scholarship
Grace Kim - United States Naval Academy

Decommissioning, Decontamination & Reutilization Division Undergraduate Scholarship
Michael Hua - University of Michigan

ANS Joseph Naser HFIC Division Undergraduate Scholarship
Austin F. Saint-Vincent - University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Operations and Power Division Scholarship
Kristina E. Reed - Georgia Institute of Technology
Andrew V. Volkovitskiy - University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Fusion Energy Division Dr. Kenneth R. Schultz Undergraduate Scholarship
Alexander J. Rice - University of Florida

Rudy Stamm'ler Undergraduate Reactor Physics Scholarship
Gavin K. Ridley - University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Charles (Tommy) Thomas Memorial
Michael V. Martin . University of California, Berkeley -

For academic excellence and outstanding achievements to a full–time graduate student in the field of nuclear science and engineering.

Andrew J. Conant - Georgia Institute of Technology
Samuel J. Cope - North Carolina State University
Williams C. Dawn - North Carolina State University
Rachel N. Gaudet - University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Everitt P. Blizard Graduate Scholarship
Kalin R. Kiesling - University of Wisconsin – Madison

Robert A. Dannels Memorial Scholarship
Forrest W. Shriver - University of Florida

Verne R. Dapp Memorial Scholarship
Richard M. Vega - Texas A&M University

Decommissioning & Environmental Sciences Division Graduate Scholarship
Megan R. Smith - North Carolina State University

Alan F. Henry/Paul A. Greebler Memorial Scholarship
Jesse P. Jones - North Carolina State University

Nuclear Criticality Safety Pioneers Scholarship
Nina C. Sorrell - North Carolina State University

Fuel Cycle & Waste Management Division John D. Randall Scholarship
Kathryn A. Mummah - University of Wisconsin

Saul Levine Memorial Scholarship
Matthew Boraas - University of Missouri, Columbia

Michael J. Lineberry Graduate Scholarship
Kurt Harris - Utah State University

Nuclear Criticality Safety Pioneers Scholarship
Zander Mausolff - University of Florida

Fuel Cycle & Waste Management Division John D. Randall Scholarship
Gordon M. Petersen - University of Tennessee, Knoxville

James F. Schumar Scholarship
Jessica L. Bishop - University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Robert E. Uhrig Graduate Scholarship
Fan Zhang - University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Vogt Radiochemistry Scholarship
Austin D. Mullen - University of Tennessee, Knoxville

NEED Scholarship Awards
For disadvantaged students who have both exceptional financial needs and demonstrated academic potential for success in fields related to nuclear science and engineering.

John and Muriel Landis Scholarships
Catalin A. Harabagiu - Purdue University
Kurt Harris - Utah State University
Tanner Jones - University of Michigan
Andrei Rykhlevskii - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
John C. Wagner - University of Tennessee-Knoxville

NEED Scholarship Award for Community College and Trade School
Rebecca M. Cipriani - Three Rivers Community College

Community College/Trade School Scholarship Awards

Kent Hamlin Memorial Scholarship
Antonio T. Acierno - Lakeland Community College
Heather D. Lester - Chattanooga State Technical Community College

Local Section Scholarship Awards

Pittsburgh Local Section Undergraduate Scholarship
William R. Murray - North Carolina State University

Pittsburgh Local Section Graduate Scholarship
Michael B. Roth - Carnegie Mellon University

Washington, DC Local Section Undergraduate Scholarship
Christopher J. Haseler - University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Last modified May 4, 2017, 10:56am CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.