American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards / Recipients

1989 < > 1991
Arthur Holly Compton Award in Education
Herbert Goldstein

Distinguished Public Service Award
Not Awarded

Eugene P. Wigner Reactor Physicist Award
Eugene P. Wigner

George C. Laurence Pioneering Award
Not Awarded

Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award (NEI)
Remy L. Carle

Landis Public Communication and Education Award
Helen Hubbard

Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award
Michael L. Corradini

Local Sections Meritorious Award
Idaho Meritorious, Large,Eastern Carolinas Meritorious, Small,Eastern Carolinas Best Membership,Washington DC Best Meetings and Programs,Eastern Washington Best Public Information and Education,Idaho Best Section Management,Swiss Best International Public Information and Education

Mark Mills Award
Jaques Reifman

Meritorious Performance in Operations Award
Patrick Tierney and Eward L. Watzl (Northern States Power),Henry D. Hukill, T. Gary Broughton and Michael J. Ross (GPU Nuclear Corp.),Robert M. Brugger, Don M. Alger, J. Charles McKibben and Chester B. Edwards, Jr. (University of Missouri-Columbia)

Nuclear Historic Landmark Award
K-25 Gaseous Diffusion Process Building Approved May,The Los Alamos Water Boiler Reactor Approved May

Presidential Citations
James F. Schumar

Radiation Science and Technology Award
Martin Berger

Ray Goertz Award
Melvin J. Feldman

Rockwell Lifetime Achievement Award
Not Awarded

Samuel Glasstone Award
Not Awarded

Seaborg Medal
Yoshitugu Mishima

Special Award
Jean Francois Pineau, Allain Rannou, and Marie-Christine Robe
Radon Measurement and Control Technologies
Standards Service Award
James F. Mallay

Student Design Competition
Graduate Category, Pennsylvania State University: Manho Chung,University of Tennessee: Saleh Alafifi, Al Boshers, Faisal Al-Gutifan, William Newmyer, Kevin Reynolds,Undergraduate Category,Arizona State University: Katheryn A. Jarvis, Robert G. Metcalf, Valerie Ochoa, Christopher N. Passmore,University of Texas, Austin:

Technical Achievement Award
Novak Zuber

Theos J. ("Tommy") Thompson Award For Reactor Safety
Robert Avery

Walter H. Zinn Award
Bertram Wolfe

Last updated May 28, 2019, 12:48pm CDT.

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.