American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards

Standards Service Award


Established in 1984, the ANS Standards Service Award recognizes outstanding achievement by individuals in the generation and use of ANS standards in the field of nuclear science and engineering. The purpose of the award is to identify and honor those individuals who have made significant contributions to the development of ANS nuclear standards accepted by recognized authorities as the most practical and appropriate criteria and methods to safely implement good working practices and responses to regulatory initiatives.

The award consists of an engraved plaque including the name of the recipient(s), the date the award was granted, and a formal citation of 50 words or less, serving as a basis for the award. The award may not be given more frequently than once a year, at the winter meeting of the Society, but may be presented to more than one individual if merit warrants.

Nomination and Eligibility

Anyone can nominate worthy candidates for the ANS Standards Service Award. The nominees shall be current or past members of the ANS Standards Committee. The award need not be given in periods when qualified candidates are not submitted.

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation
  • Letters of support (support letters recommended but not required, no more than five)
Nomination Deadline:
March 1st
Winter Meeting

Nomination forms and supporting documents (in Word or Adobe Acrobat) should be emailed to Patricia Schroeder

Hard copies can be mailed to:

Patricia Schroeder
Standards Manager
American Nuclear Society
555 N. Kensington Avenue
La Grange Park, IL 60526-5535

Last modified October 2, 2017, 4:34pm CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.