American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards

Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award (NEI)


The award was established in 1972 by the ANS and the Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) to recognize outstanding and statesmanlike contributions to the many aspects of nuclear energy activities.

The candidate must have international stature in a broad sector of the nuclear energy field. A significant segment of the candidate's work must have been directed toward the peaceful uses of nuclear energy. Nominees need not be ANS or NEI members, they do not have to be US citizens, but the recipient must be living at the time he/she is nominated.

Selection Method

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation
  • A narrative summary of about 1,000 words, including accomplishments, period of activity, and significance of achievements
  • A list of publications
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Letters of support (support letters recommended but not required, no more than five)

Nominations are considered by a committee comprised of ANS and NEI members.

Nomination Deadline:
March 1
Annual Meeting (even years)
Nuclear Energy Assembly (odd years)

Nomination forms and supporting documents (in Word or Adobe Acrobat) should be emailed to

Hard copies can be mailed to:

Honors and Awards
American Nuclear Society
555 N. Kensington Avenue
La Grange Park, IL 60526-5535

Last modified October 2, 2017, 4:34pm CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.