American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards

E. Gail de Planque Metal

This award has been established in honor of the late E. Gail de Planque, former NRC commissioner and ANS president who achieved many firsts for women in nuclear science. Dr. de Planque was actively involved in a variety of organizations for the peaceful advancement of nuclear energy and was the recipient of several national awards in honor of her visionary leadership in nuclear science, including ANS Fellow, the Outstanding Woman Scientist of the Year award from the New York Metropolitan Chapter of the Association for Women in Science in 1991 and the ANS Henry DeWolf Smyth Award for Nuclear Statesmanship in 2003. Dr. de Planque was Director of the United States Department of Energy's Environmental Measurements Laboratory and later served as a commissioner of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Her strong scientific background was key in influencing and understanding public policy on nuclear and environmental issues.

The award recognizes exemplary accomplishments by a woman in the fields of nuclear science and engineering. The nominee does not need to be an ANS member but should be affiliated with the nuclear community in some manner. The award is administered by the Honors & Awards Committee and the Diversity and Inclusion in ANS Committee.

This award is intended to recognize outstanding lifetime or singular achievements by women that have resulted in tangible benefits to the field of nuclear science and engineering. The award is to be given to a woman whose work in the field of engineering, education, research or public policy meets one or more of the following criteria:

  • Outstanding technical leadership for work performed in her subject area (e.g., establishing a new curriculum)
  • Leader of a major research, design, construction, or operations effort
  • Accomplishment in the field of public policy affecting nuclear science and technology.

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation from the nominator
  • A narrative summary of about 1,000 words, including accomplishments, period of activity, and significance of achievements
  • A list of publications, patents and/or other evidence of accomplishments (as applicable)
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Letters of support (a minimum of 3 support letters required; no more than five)

Nomination Deadline: August 1

Presented: Winter Meeting

Award description: $5,000 monetary award and a bronze medallion

Nomination forms and supporting documents (in Word or Adobe Acrobat) should be emailed to

Hard copies can be mailed to:

Honors and Awards
American Nuclear Society
555 N. Kensington Avenue
La Grange Park, IL 60526-5535

Last modified October 2, 2017, 4:34pm CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.