IAFA

Four nations submit nominees for agency DG

The governments of Argentina, Burkina Faso, Romania, and Slovakia have submitted candidates for the International Atomic Energy Agency director general position. The nominees are Rafael Mariano Grossi (Argentina), Lassina Zerbo (Burkina Faso), Cornel Feruță (Romania), and Marta Žiaková (Slovakia). Currently, Feruță is serving as acting director general, following his appointment to the role by the IAEA Board of Governors upon the death of the previous director general, Yukiya Amano, on July 18 (NN, Aug. 2019, p. 10).

The board expects to name a director general in October and for that person to assume office no later than January 1, 2020. To be appointed, a candidate must secure a two-thirds majority in a vote by the 35-member board. If a two-thirds majority is not achieved, the nomination process would begin again.

In addition, the IAEA General Conference unanimously adopted a resolution on September 16 to name a new facility built under the Renovation of the Nuclear Applications Laboratories project



In July, IAEA member states held a minute of silence for the late Director General Yukiya Amano.

after the late director general. The resolution—submitted by Germany, Japan, and South Africa—recognizes "the significant contribution Amano made to enhancing the agency's efforts toward international peace and security and in support of the peaceful use of nuclear technologies, particularly through the motto 'Atoms for Peace and Development," according to an IAEA news release. The new flexible, modular laboratory building that will now be named the Yukiya Amano Laboratories was inaugurated in November 2018. Once operational, the facility will house the Animal Production and Health Laboratory, the Food and Environmental Protection Laboratory, and the Soil and Water Management and Crop Nutrition Laboratory.

The resolution stated that the general conference expressed its "sincere gratitude and appreciation to Mr. Amano for his devotion to the objectives and functions of the agency during his distinguished and successful tenure as director general." Amano was the IAEA's fifth director general since 1957. He was first appointed to the office effective December 2009 and reappointed in 2013 and 2017. Previous directors general were Mohamed ElBaradei (1997–2009), Hans Blix (1981–1997), Sigvard Eklund (1961–1981), and Sterling Cole (1957–1961).

