American Nuclear Society

Home / About / 2014 National Election Slate

Nominating Committee Selects 2014 Candidates

Vice President / President–Elect Candidates
The ANS Nominating Committee has selected as the candidates for Vice President / President-Elect: Eugene S. Grecheck (Dominion Generation-retired) and Amir Shahkarami (Exelon Nuclear).

Board of Director Candidates
The ANS Board of Directors each serve a three year term that begins and ends during an ANS Annual Meeting. The ANS Bylaws and Rules require that U.S. and non U.S. members be proportionately represented. In the 2014 election, there are four U.S. Director At-Large, and one non-U.S. Director At-Large positions to be filled.

U.S. Director At–Large Position Candidates
Nominated to run for the U.S. Director At-Large positions are: Peter F. Caracappa (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), Paul T. Dickman (Argonne National Laboratory), Katherin L. Goluoglu (University of Florida), Gale Hauck (Westinghouse), Lisa M. Marshall (North Carolina State University), W. David Pointer (Oak Ridge National Laboratory), Sandra M. Sloan (B&W mPower, Inc.), Finis H. Southworth (Areva NP, Inc.), and William Arthur Wharton, III (Westinghouse).

Non–U.S. Director At–Large Position Candidates
Nominated to run for the Non-U.S. Director At-Large — Europe/Africa Region – position are: Oum Keltoum Bouhelal (ENIM-Nat'l School of Mineral Industry), Sandra Dulla (Politecnico di Torino), and Luc G.G. Van Den Durpel (AREVA Corporate R&D).

Directors whose terms will end in June 2014 are: Steven A. Arndt, Harold L. Dodds, Eugene S. Grecheck, Santiago San Antonio and Nick Tsoulfanidis.

In addition to Chair Michael L. Corradini, members of this year's Nominating Committee included: Local Sections Committee Chair Robert Penn, Professional Divisions Committee Chair Hans Gougar, Carol L. Berrigan, Sama Bilbao y Leon, Rachel N. Slaybaugh, James S. Tulenko, Paul P. Wilson, and Loyd A. Wright.

Ballots for the 2014–2015 election will be mailed on March 3, 2014. As ratified by the ANS membership in June 1997, there is no longer balloting at the Annual Meeting. Therefore, the mail ballots for the Board of Directors election must be returned and received no later than 12 noon on Tuesday, April 15, 2014.

Last updated January 14, 2014, 8:30am CST.

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.