American Nuclear Society

Home / About / Committees

Professional Women in ANS Committee

The committee shall be responsible for increasing the participation of women in the Society, promote the education of women in the scientific and engineering fields, encourage women to enter the nuclear industry as a profession, support women in the nuclear industry in achieving their career objectives, serve as ANS liaison to women's committees in other technical societies, assist the Society in communicating its public information program and advise the Executive Committee on women's issues.

The committee shall be composed of not fewer than ten (10) nor more than twenty (20) Fellows, Members, Student, Emeritus, or Honorary Life Members, each appointed to a three (3) year term, with the terms of approximately one-third (1/3) of its members expiring at the close of each Annual Meeting. At least one member of the committee shall be a Student Member of the Society. At least one member of the committee shall be a non-U.S. resident. The Chairs of the Education and Training Division and of the Membership and NEED Committees, or their designated representatives, shall be ex officio members.

See also: PWANS Committee Web Site

Committee Chair: Lisa Marshall

Staff Liaison: Mary Vitas

Last modified April 15, 2016, 10:38am CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.