American Nuclear Society

Home / About / Committees

NEED Committee

The Nuclear Engineering Education for the Disadvantaged (NEED) Committee provides educational and professional assistance to the culturally and economically disadvantaged in order to encourage their educational pursuits in nuclear science and technology.

Member Responsibilities:

  • Attend committee meetings at each of the national meetings and participate on conference calls as needed.
  • Approve funds for ANS need-based scholarships that directly support students with economic and cultural disadvantages.
  • Approve financial support to the NEED Grants for Academic Programs (NGAP) as well as the George A. Ferguson Motivational Grants (GAFMG) for K-12 school programs.

Helpful Traits for Members:

  • Desire to help members of underserved and disadvantaged groups pursue education in nuclear science and technology.

Committee Chair: Julie G. Ezold

Staff Liaison: Tracy Coyle

Applications for the NEED Grants for Academic Programs (NGAP) and George A. Ferguson Motivational Grant (GAFMG) are found on the NEED Committee Website.

Last modified September 17, 2018, 12:55pm CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.