American Nuclear Society

Home / About / Committees

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee shall be responsible for evaluation and development of plans to extend the Society membership both geographically and by discipline, maintenance of an active interest in student membership to stimulate a high percentage of transfer to full membership; continuing study and recommendations for improvements of Society services and activities insofar as they encourage continuing membership and the objectives of the Society; acquisition and review of reports and suggestions by constituent unit representatives on membership growth and means of stimulating such growth, review of questions on special membership problems as directed by the Board of Directors; planning and conduct of activities of the Society pertaining to membership extension; and the review of resignations, severances, and other cases involving individual members.

This committee shall be composed of not fewer than ten (10) nor more than twenty (20) Fellows, Members, Student, Emeritus, or Honorary Life Members, each appointed to a three (3) -year term, with the terms of approximately one-third (1/3) of the members expiring at the close of each Annual Meeting. Members shall be appointed to maintain a geographic and discipline representation of the membership. It is recommended that at least one (1) of the appointed members shall be a student member. At least one (1) of the appointed members shall be a non-U.S. resident. In addition, the chair, or a representative designated by the chair, of each of the following shall be ex officio members: Professional Divisions Committee, Local Sections Committee, Education and Training Division, and Student Sections Committee.

The Membership Committee shall determine the eligibility of applicants for membership in the Society in cases where Society staff cannot determine eligibility of membership (see also R3.1.1, R3.3, R3.4.7).

Committee Chair: Dr. W. David Pointer, Ph.D.

Staff Liaison: Diane Cianflone

Last updated April 11, 2016, 5:05pm CDT

Questions or comments about the site? Contact the ANS Webmaster.